Cards made with love

I am in the prime age bracket of weddings and all the accompanying celebrations – engagement parties, hens parties, the weddings and then give it a few years and I’ll be buying even more baby shower cards.

Two of my friends are getting married in March and I wanted to be sure to get them a special card. I don’t like most of the standard congratulation cards on offer. They all look the same with Hallmark sentiment, ivory tones and pearls.

Fortunately for me, the receptionist at my work is a passionate crafter who loves to make cards. She makes really different birthday, baby, thank-you, valentines and any other celebration you can think of cards. They are always beautiful and lovingly made with details in ribbon, watercolours and layers on layers of paper.

I came to her asking her to make me a more modern wedding card. Nothing too sentimental, a little non-traditional. She took my commission and made this for me overnight:

Personalised wedding card by Alison at Goth Dove

Personalised wedding card by Alison at Goth Dove

I just loved it! I didn’t want to give it away. I love all the couples, such a fun mixture of great lovers throughout the ages, right down to Harry and Ginny. And of course, it is genuinely personalised.

Then last week, this is delivered to my desk; I felt so special!

My simple Fabulous birthday card from Alison. Unexpected and so thoughtful.

My simple Fabulous birthday card from Alison. Unexpected and so thoughtful.

Finally, I among the few I have bought recently was this non-traditional card for Valentines. It has the most wonderful layering and detail. Just look at the cloud stenciled background.

Card for my valentine. Avoiding all traditional sentiments, pinks and hearts.

Card for my valentine. Avoiding all traditional sentiments, pinks and hearts.

 

How a gift is presented can make a real difference and make the receiver feel even more loved and special. Part of that is a thoughtful card with a beautiful, funny, or silly sentiment inside it. When you see the card and read the message, you feel that the giver has put a lot of thought and consideration into the gift because they feel that you are worthy of such thoughtfulness.

You can check out Alison at Goth Dove’s work on her blog or see her Pinterest. Her cards can be purchased online.

Leave a Reply

