Breakfast at Atticus Finch

Atticus Finch has been beckoning me to try it ever since it opened a few months ago. I would often jog past its door on my morning run and smell a whole lot of amazingness coming out of the kitchen, but for some reason I just never made it inside…until recently.

Let me set the scene for you. It was a blistering hot Saturday morning in Brisbane – you know the weekend where SEQ temperatures closely resembled the depths of hell? Yup, that weekend.

My girlfriend and I decided to ignore the brutal weather and have a girly catch up over breakfast. She lives at one end of Paddington and I at the other so we happily met halfway in-between at Atticus Finch.

We quickly got a table outside and ordered a cold drip coffee for her and a coffee syrup with milk and ice for me – the perfect thing to revive me after an early morning gym session. For breakfast I went with the black sticky rice with banana, tapioca and coconut and my breakfast buddy ordered the fancy mince on toast which consisted of beef mince, mushrooms, bacon, kidney beans, pecorino cheese, a poached egg and sourdhough – yum!

Our drinks came out in a jiffy and when our meals arrived shortly afterwards they looked amazing! I mean seriously LOOK! Don’t you automatically just drool when you look at this?

Breakfast at Atticus Finch

My sticky rice was delicious but perhaps just a little bit sweet for my liking. Unfortunately this meant I actually couldn’t finish it off (believe me I tried very hard too).

The Fancy Mince proved to be a hit as well, my date thoroughly enjoyed it and we both vowed to definitely come back again.

Breakfast at Atticus Finch

Atticus Finch also has some serious good coffee. I will say that it is a little pricier than my usual caffeine haunts but it is bloody great coffee so I don’t really mind paying a little extra.

As an added plus for those of us with food intolerances, the menu is extremely food allergy friendly with plenty of options for gluten free, dairy free, vegetarians and vegans.

To top it all off, the café is puppy friendly and has an absolutely gorgeous fit out too. The walls are covered in the pages of To Kill a Mockingbird – one of the owner’s favourite books (and the café’s namesake) and there is a stunning Frank and Mimi mural inside.

Fur-babies can hang outside on the deck and bask in the sun while their owners enjoy some toast and a great coffee and it really adds to the relaxed atmosphere of the place.

I really enjoyed my meal at Atticus Finch and I can’t wait to go back again – in fact I might drag Tom there this weekend…I just wish we had a cute french bulldog to take with us (Santa can you hear me?).

Atticus Finch Cafe on Urbanspoon

One thought on “Breakfast at Atticus Finch

  1. Pingback: Brisbane’s Best Coffee |

Leave a Reply

