A wrinkle in time – when did you start using face cream?

Last month I celebrated my 31st birthday. I had a terrific week of celebration and not a little indulgence, my favourite birthday pastime.  However, the week before my birthday, classic freak-out time, I started to get the feeling that time and aging were creeping up on me. Clicking over the decade into my 30s-proper got me wondering and worried.

I have no desire to look young forever. I have no problem admitting my age. I have no intention of pounding pavements and drinking endless green smoothies to fight back the years and preserve my body at some yet-to-be-determined premium age of youthful yet mature perfection.

What I want to do is take care of myself so that while I may look my age, my wrinkles are from smiling, not skin damage. Though looking on average 5 years younger wouldn’t be a bad thing either.

For some reason, my sudden concern for aging has manifested itself in the feeling that I should be using some sort of anti-wrinkle cream. I have vivid memories of when I was 18 and my older cousin taking me aside and telling me to start using moisturiser NOW because 30 is Too Late To Start.  So perhaps 30 is the time to start using anti-wrinkle cream because 50 will be Too Late.

But which one? There are so many creams, serums and treatments lining the shelves of every Priceline and Myer across the country so as to bewilder a beauty-product novice such as myself. How to choose one? Because I feel that choosing an anti-wrinkle cream is a little like choosing a frequent flyer program. You have to pick one and stick to it for years to see any results.

Do you need vitamins or minerals? Mysterious oils? Extreme moisturiser? Do I really want to start rubbing Neurotoxins into my skin every day?

Frankly I find lists like Marie Claire’s best anti-aging creams of 2014 depressing and off-putting. How can I pick which celebrity endorsement will be best? It’s Cate Blanchett for SKII obviously, but I can’t afford that, even if it will magically impose Cate’s luminous skin over my own frustrating red pigments.

So a week before my birthday I took the advice of Brisbane’s local real-beauty guru, Nikki at Styling You and bought my first ever anti-wrinkle cream.

Nivea cream

I bought Nivea Q10+ anti-wrinkle day cream. It’s affordable, from a brand I use everyday, easy to use and contains SPF30+ so I don’t need to add sunscreen in the morning. I’ve been using it almost every morning as part of the now four layers I add to my skin before facing the world (moisturiser, anti-wrinkle, simple primer (thanks for that one too Nikki!) and foundation).

Does it help my wrinkles? I’ll tell you all next year.

To be honest, I doubt most if any anti-wrinkle or worse, anti-aging creams perform the miracles they promise. We are being sold the dream of youthful spotless skin and now I am buying into it.

Do you use any special creams or serums on your skin? Is moisturising every day enough for you? Or do you not even do that?

5 thoughts on “A wrinkle in time – when did you start using face cream?

  1. I feel the same as you. I’ve even worked in the beauty department before and I think 30 is a good age to start some sort of treatment. My most favourite product is Philosophy’s Microdelivery at home Vitamin C Peptide Peel. I’m not a big spender on products either and usually only use Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion daily or Korres Products: Day & Night Magnolia Bark creams for first wrinkles (but I get the deal pack 2 for 1 special) so it’s a lot cheaper. In summer I don’t have to use anything as my skin turns oily. No wrinkles so far, but I am worried just a little of getting those 2 lines between the eyebrows, but so far that’s not a problem yet. What are your thought on botox in the future? I’m curious. I have turned 32 this year by the way 🙂

    • Thanks for replying, it’s interesting to hear what other people use, I might need to look into these. I like other Clinique products (eyeliner, mascara) so I should maybe look at their creams. The only drawback is they can be quite expensive in Australia.

      I think I’m going to be a no to botox. I already have forehead wrinkles. I raise my eyebrows when I read – which is a lot of the time – and I didn’t realise I did this until a few years ago. So I have forehead wrinkles that I’m sure are ripe for botox, and it would make me look a lot smoother and younger. But I like (most) of my lines and I worry I would like botox too much and start looking plastic. Wrinkles are better than not being able to raise your eyebrows at all!

      That being said, I have friends our age who have been given botox vouchers! So you never know.

      • Usually department or Beauty stores will give out Clinique skincare samples if you ask them nicely, and you can say a friend recommended it to you. They have the 3 Step System as well which is what they are really known for. I tried to find the little test online but couldn’t find it for you, but you can have it done at the store. You can order their products cheaper online especially at some websites that give great discount. Also when you are travelling somewhere, you will most likely see cheaper prices, but that lotion of theirs is their bestseller and has won many awards and women always rave about it. Even my mum uses it 🙂 It’s a perfect base before applying make up. And great at night after you remove your make up too.

        I think lines are beautiful on people’s faces. They show character and wisdom. I especially see this often on men. I will definitely go natural for as long as possible. It’s just those “11” lines as they call them between the eyes that I would want gone once they appear. I’m usually such a happy and positive person, and looking angry or concerned would definitely not suit me hehe 😀 A friend of mine who is 35 has done botox and her face looks really pretty. It doesn’t look plastic at all, and very natural. So I think it just depends the amount you use. Have some of your friends done it? It’s always good to see what it looks like on someone you know as well.

  2. I don’t use it as a cream, but when I was at uni we used retinoic acid (a common ingredient in anti aging creams) as part of a developmental biology practical. It causes mutations in cells to 1) grow extra skin cells to puff out wrinkles or 2) grow extra wings on chicken embryos. Does your cream have retinoic acid in it?

    • Not that it admits to. Not sure what other potential nasties it contains. But I want to trust Nivea – I’ve been using their moisturiser for a decade!

Leave a Reply

